The platform UniConnect

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
1

Blogs

Blogs are a chronologically sorted collection of long, potentially more complex textual information in the manner of online journals and can be used to share information with other researchers and/ or students.

2

Forums

A forum serves as communication tool to structure discussions on specific topics (e.g. to answer a question) and enables the exchange of textual messages asynchronously between multiple participants.

3

Notifications

Notifications make information and experts immediately visible, making it easy to share conversations that would have otherwise been hidden e.g. in conventional email. Notifications aim at faster and more informed decision-making.

4

Profiles

Each UniConnect user has a social profile, which consists of demographic and/or biographic information about the person. With these profiles a network of researchers can be establish on UniConnect and people can find and connect with each other.

5

Communities

A community (a virtual workspace) is providing a central collaboration point for a research team, with tools to manage membership, gather and share information and organize their work.

6

Activities

The Activities-widget is used to organize project work such as sharing information and resources, assigning and tracking to do items and organizing meetings.

7

Bookmarks

Bookmarks are used to collect, organize, and share links to web pages of interest to you.

8

Docs

Docs are used to create and work synchronously or asynchronously with multiple other users on texts, tables or presentations.

9

Micro-blogs

Microblogs are chronologically sorted textual messages with a particularly short length and low complexity. They are used to quickly share news.

10

Wikis

A wiki is a centralized collection of information that research team members can view and update.

11

Kudos Suite for IBM Connections

Kudos Suite is a third party software product that is provided by ISW, a Tasmanian IBM Business Partner. The application contains gamification widgets for IBM Connections. The UCT is happy to have ISW’s permission and support for adding the full “Kudos Suite” to UniConnect. Now users can see their achievements in the form of digital badges on their profiles for using UniConnect or they can use the “Activities” as a Kanban board.

12

Polls and Surveys

This tool is used to quickly and easily gather feedback from students or researchers in your community.

13

Communication

Communication in a research team is the very essence of the group’s success. But team members are not always in the same place at the same time. Therefore you need modern online tools to realize an efficient communication exchange. On UniConnect a multitude of such tools are fully integrated.

14

Cooperation

If community members cooperate then synergies (especially from multidisciplinary teams) can be generated. By using UniConnect several tools are provided to give a team the opportunity to work together, even though they are divided by time-zone or location.

15

Coordination

To coordinate a group of researchers means to define courses of action, assign tasks and to set due dates. Task management on UniConnect gives an overview about what is to be done next and about the current status of the respective project.

16

Combination

If only research teams know what they know. The combination of content on UniConnect brings together different kinds of data to illustrate the given inherent knowledge within a community or rather to combine these valuable resources, which can form new knowledge.

Die Plattform UniConnect

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
1

Blogs

Blogs sind chronologisch sortierte, längere, potenziell komplexere Textinformationen im Stile eines Journals und dienen dem Informationsaustausch mit anderen Forschern und/oder Studenten.

2

Foren

Foren dienen zur strukturierten Diskussion eines Themas (z. B. Beantwortung von Fragen) mithilfe von asynchron gesendeten Textnachrichten mehrerer Teilnehmer.

3

Nachrichten

Mit Nachrichten können direkt auf wichtige Informationen und Experten hingewiesen werden, die andernfalls übersehen worden wären, um so (besser als in herkömmlichen E-Mails) schneller und fundierter zu einer Entscheidung zu gelangen.

4

Profile

Jeder User von UniConnect hat ein Profil, dass spezifische demografische und/oder biografische Angaben enthält. Über die Profile entsteht auf UniConnect ein Netzwerk von Forschern, die sich so finden und miteinander verknüpfen können.

5

Communities

Eine Community (virtueller Arbeitsraum) bietet einen zentralen Punkt der Zusammenarbeit für ein Forscherteam. Es werden dort verschiedene Werkzeuge zum Management der Mitglieder sowie zum Zusammentragen und Teilen von Informationen angeboten.

6

Aktivitäten

Das Aktivitäten-Widget wird genutzt, um Projektarbeiten zu organisieren, Informationen und Ressourcen zu teilen, Aufgaben zu verteilen und nachzuverfolgen sowie Meetings zu organisieren.

7

Lesezeichen

Lesezeichen werden genutzt, um Links zu interessante Webseiten zu sammeln, zu organisieren und zu teilen.

8

Docs

Mit Docs können mehrere Personen synchron oder asynchron einen Text, eine Tabelle oder eine Präsentation erstellen und bearbeiten.

9

Micro Blogs

Microblogs sind chronologisch sortierte Textnachrichten mit besonders kurzer Länge und geringer Komplexität. Sie werden genutzt, um schnell Neuigkeiten auszutauschen.

10

Wikis

Ein Wiki ist eine zentralisierte Kollektion von Informationen, die Mitglieder von Forscherteams lesen und erweitern können.

11

Kudos Suite

Kudos Suite ist ein Produkt des australischen IBM Business Partners ISW. ISW ist ein Drittanbieter von Gamification-Erweiterungen für IBM Connections. Das UCT freut sich über das Einverständnis und den Support von ISW, die gesamte Kudos Suite in UniConnect einbinden zu können. Dadurch erhalten User digitale Auszeichnungen in Form von „Badges“ auf ihrem Profil für die Nutzung von UniConnect. Zudem kann das Aktivitäten-Widget zusätzlich als Kanban Board genutzt werden.

12

Polls and Surveys

Dieses Tool dient dazu, schnell und einfach Umfragen mit Forschern und Studenten in Communitys durchzuführen.

13

Kommunikation

Kommunikation ist die grundlegende Voraussetzung für den Erfolg eines Forscherteams. Jedoch sind die einzelnen Mitglieder nicht immer zur gleichen Zeit am gleichen Ort, um sich austauschen zu können. Daher werden moderne Online-Tools benötigt, um einen zufriedenstellenden Kommunikationsaustausch realisieren zu können. Auf UniConnect sind eine Vielzahl solcher Tools voll integriert.

14

Kooperation

Erst wenn Communitymitglieder kooperieren, können Synergien (vor allem in multidisziplinären Teams) generiert werden. Mit dem Einsatz von UniConnect werden einem Forscherteam verschiedene Tools zur Verfügung gestellt, mittels derer hervorragend zusammengearbeitet werden kann, obwohl man durch räumliche Distanz oder sogar Zeitzonen voneinander getrennt ist.

15

Koordination

Eine Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern zu koordinieren bedeutet, dass man Handlungsabfolgen definiert, Aufgaben verteilt und Fristen setzt. Mit dem Einsatz von UniConnect kennen die teilnehmenden Wissenschaftler stets den aktuellen Stand des Projektes und wissen, was als nächstes zu tun ist.

16

Kombination

Wenn Forscherteams doch nur wüssten, was sie alles wissen. UniConnect bietet die Möglichkeit verschiedene Daten und Informationen zu nutzen und miteinander zu verbinden, um das inhärente Wissen einer Community abzubilden bzw. um diese kostenbaren Ressourcen zu verknüpfen, was wiederum neues Wissen erschaffen kann.